Vijayawada Administration

Vijayawada, the third largest city in Andhra Pradesh, is spread over an area of about 282 square kilometers. Along with being a booming economy, the city boasts of being the second largest junction in the Indian Railways Network. Vijayawada has concentrated areas devoted to power generation plants, machinery developing units and most importantly automobile accessory manufacturing plants. The importance of the city in Southern India can be estimated by the fact that Mc Kinsey Quarterly mentions Vijayawada as the Global City of the Future.

District Collector
Address: Collectorate Main Building, Collectorate, Chilakalapudi, Machilipatnam 521002
Email: collector_krsn[at]ap[dot]gov[dot]in
Contact No.:08672252668   
Fax: 08672252882

Collectorate Control Room: 08672-252572
Citizen's Call center : 1100
Child Helpline : 1098
Women Helpline : 1091
Crime Stopper : 1090

Vijayawada Municipal Corporation

As per the Census of 2011, the city has a population of 10,48,240, however if one includes the rural outskirts along with the main city the population figures swell to about 2.5 million. Vijayawada also falls under the ambit of Jawaharlal National Urban Renewal Mission which ensures the availability of quality civic amenities like proper intra city connectivity via buses. The Government has been mulling over the idea of merging the nearby 45 villages and transforming the city to the status of a Mahanagar.

Vijayawada Municipal Corporation

The city is governed by the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation, which came into being on April 1st 1888. The municipality attained the state of a Corporation in 1981. The merger of Gunadala, Patamata and Bhavanipuram village panchayats and two villages Payakapuram and Kundavari kandrika resulted in the transformation. The city sprawls over a huge area and a major part of the population resides towards the outskirts of the city.

Vijayawada Municipal Corporation
Canal Rd, Krishnalanka, Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh 520001
Website :

Vijayawada is bifurcated into 59 political wards, and each of these wards is represented in the Municipal Corporation by an Area Corporator. The Corporation is headed by the elected Mayor who is holds the apex position in the organization. Under his supervision lie the Standing Committee, Wards Committee and the Special Committees. Next in line is the Office of the Deputy Mayor. The staff of the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation totals to about 5000 individuals.

Departments in the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation

The city apex body boasts of a well organized structure. The various responsibilities of the organization are assigned to clearly defined departments functioning for the well being of the residents of the city. It has about fourteen departments to cater to the various civic needs of the growing town. These departments are:
  • Accounts Department
  • Revenue Department
  • Administration Departmen
  • Education Department
  • Health Departmen
  • Engineering Department
  • Legal Department
  • Urban Community Development Department
  • Town Planning Department
  • Fire Prevention Wing
  • Horticulture Department
  • Secretary Cell
  • P.R.O Section
  • Projects Department
Vijayawada Municipal Corporation has been the pioneer of e-Governance in India and initiated the system of Fund based Double entry accrual financial accounting system under an agreement with for Good Governance (CGG) and eGovernments Foundation. The system of online tax collection through e-seva centers has immensely helped the process of tax collection and accounting. The model computerized City Civic Center ensures that people who aren’t well conversant with internet use are able to get all necessary information about the various civic services offered by the Municipal Corporation.

Vijayawada Police Administration

Vijayawada is among the three cities in Andhra Pradesh that has its individual Police Commissionerate. The department is headed by the Police Commissioner of the city, who is a top level IPS officer of the rank of Deputy Inspector General. Under his supervision are two Deputy Commissioners who are also high level IPS officers.

Elections in Vijayawada

Vijayawada holds the status of a Lok Sabha Constituency from the state of Andhra Pradesh being the third largest city in the city. In the state assembly, Vijayawada holds about seven assembly seats. The names of the assembly seats and the elected MLAs from the same are listed as follows:

You may also like to visit

    Free Listing